Dungeon World

Dungeon World

One of the games I purchased at GenCon is Dungeon World.  I highly recommend you check it out.  Dungeon World takes a few of the principles that I have with game design, and meshes D&D with a story game.  It has an “old school” feel to many of the rules, the black and white art, and some of the powers and spells – but it presents the game in a well-structured rules-light and story-focused way.  I frequently comment on this blog that I want to do away with big lists of powers, feats, spells, etc.  I always talk about wanting to build a framework that’s easily extended by the users (GM and Players) to play the game they want to play.  Dungeon World succeeds with this in spades.

In the next few weeks I will be reviewing the Dungeon World rules.  You’ll find that there’s a lot to love about this game, and there’s quite a lot that blends very well into my own design principle for a RPG.  This is the first set of rules in a long time to get me excited about playing RPGs again, and will certainly be an inspiration for me as I continue working on Lost Worlds.

You can check out Dungeon World here.

Leave a Reply

