Art & Inspirations

The_Mercenary_by_alanlathwell

In keeping with lighter topics for the end of the week, I thought I’d post what I think is a useful resource to both GMs and Players alike.  I’ve been following and adding inspiring fantasy-genre art on deviant art for some time now.  I’m pretty sure you don’t need an account to see this page (let me know if it doesn’t work).  I have somewhere around 1000 pieces of art saved here from extremely talented deviant artists.

JackOfHearts’ Deviant Art Favorites

I’ve found that going through this folder is a near sure-fire way of inspiring something to use during a game, and works as both player and GM.  At some point, I’d love to commission one or more of the artists featured there to do some artwork for Lost Worlds, but that’s still a ways away, if it ever happens.

(The Mercenary image above is from ~alanlathwell)

 

One thought on “Art & Inspirations

  1. Andy

    I agree. I’ve also mooched off of your deviantart idea in the past. Usually when I create a character I start with the class/stats/etc and then work towards a character/picture so it makes endlessly surfing deviantart harder, but maybe next time I create a character I’ll find a badass picture and then figure out a character after.

    I actually think this would be a fantastic way to start a new campaign. Everyone has to pick a picture they think looks awesome and then worry about fitting the class/race/etc to it after.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

