Movement pt 2

This is pt 2 on the topic of movement.  Part 1 can be found here.

I’d like a system that can handle tactical movement too.  If I make a battle map, I want movement to be as natural as possible.  I could assign a ft to inch ratio and we could pull our the measuring tapes like in table-skirmish games, but I’m not quite interested in failed charges and guessing ranges.  As I stated in my design goals, I want to speed up combat, not slow it down with measuring every move.

So, I want a battle grid.  I never quite understood why squares were used instead of hexagons.  I’ll use a hex grid for the game to make movement a bit more natural around the board.  I just need an appropriate scale per hex.  There are some conflicting design issues here.

Small scale: You can have lots of action and movement even in smaller areas.  Size categories make a little more sense.  It’s harder to completely block someone’s movement.

Large Scale: You can fit larger-scaled battles on your table.  You can start to approximate outdoor encounter distances.

My table is 46 inches wide and 94 inches long.  That means if I were to have a grid that covered my table, the hex scale would have to be 1 inch = approx 13 ft to be able to support my full range of 600 ft, if I wanted to be able to support it in either direction.  If I assume long distance will only happen along one axis, 1 inch would need to be about 6.5 ft.

All of this math starts changing if I call my round 5 seconds or 10 seconds instead of 6.  At 10 seconds, you’re walking 50 ft per round (or with one move action).  At 5 seconds, you’re going 25.  I think regardless of which route I take, the 5 ft hex grid seems appropriate.  You’re basically getting a hex each second, which could also give me some flexibility in designing actions to do in a round/partial round actions.

One thing I still haven’t finished though is how does speed impact this.  I’ve waited until now though because the biggest problem is one of scale.  Unless we want to use a 2.5ft hex (we could go smaller, and just have medium sized creatures take up more than a single hex), it’s hard to adjust speed more than a couple of hexes without getting out of scale with everything.  It seems like I have a clear top speed of approx 30 mph, and a medium speed of about 15.  I suppose the slowest could potentially be 5mph then, the speed of the average person’s walk.

If I modeled speed with a stat on a 10-scale then we get:

  • 10: 12 hexes
  • 9: 10.8
  • 8: 9.6
  • 7: 8.4
  • 6: 7.2
  • 5: 6 hexes
  • 4: 4.8
  • 3: 3.6
  • 2: 2.4
  • 1: 1.2 hexes

If I changed my scale to 6ft, I’d get that you can move exactly your speed in hexes each turn.  OR, if I change my round to 5 seconds instead of 6, I can leave my scale at 5 ft and you can move your speed in hexes each turn.  I suppose I could just as easily assume that everyone is moving 20% slower because of all that loot.

Ok, that sounds like progress.

Round = 5 seconds.  In that round you can move your speed in 5 ft hexes as a classic move action, or twice if you take two move actions.  I’m still assuming classic 3e and pathfinder rules for what you can do in a round, but I may be replacing that.  The scales here, I think, are going to give me a lot of flexibility with it.  For example, if I want to let you take 5 actions a turn, one action might be to move up to two hexes.

I’m still hoping that someone better with math skills than I do will have a clearer answer to this.  I feel like I went through quite a bit to get to essentially the same math that d&d has used for so long.

6 thoughts on “Movement pt 2

  1. Andy

    And you’re still waiting for someone with better math skills to reply… haha. I think your math sounds ok but I think a lot of trail and error will be involved here.

    Reply
  2. Brian

    I say we all get large backpacks full of a variety of weights and see how long it takes us to move certain distances…

    Reply
      1. Andrew

        That could a description of every workout we do. I can attest that I move a lot slower than others

  3. Brian

    how quickly can you safely cover 60 feet while carrying 100 lbs of gear?
    Also – what strength score would you have? 12 maybe? I don’t know….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

